View topic - saltwater flyfishing - advice needed! - Discussion forum and board - Global FlyFisher

GFF logo

saltwater flyfishing - advice needed!
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Global FlyFisher forum frontpage -> Fly fishing - Fish Better
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jonathan

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 10:55 am    Post subject: saltwater flyfishing - advice needed! Reply with quote
Hi everyone,

I'm new to saltwater fly fishing and I need a little help on a typical setup for sea trout. Embarassed

1 - What breaking strain of leader?
2 - What length of leader? ( My rod is 10.5ft #7/8 )
3 - Tapered leader or just "straight from the spool"?
4 - Weight Forward or Shooting Head?
5 - Floating line or intermediate?
6 - Are "polyleaders" recommended?

Thank you
Jonathan

´¯`·._.·´¯`·.><((((((º>
`·._.·´¯`·._.·´¯`·.><((((((º>
DistantStreams

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:19 am    Post subject: One question = many Reply with quote
Hi Jonathan,

I am sure you'll get hundreds of answers, all different.
There's no real formula or correct way. As you progress, you'll find what works for you.

I can answer with my experience and what works for me.

What breaking strain of leader?
Basically you want a tapered leader to allow a good turn over and presentation, tapered to a tippet of around 23mm. Some, and including myself, have used tippets as fine as 15 to 20mm. But as a beginning, I would go for 23 to 25mm.
Expect average fish weights of 2 to 4kg.

What length of leader? ( My rod is 10.5ft #7/8 )?
That's weather permitting.
Normal conditions - 9ft.
Night and strong wind - 7ft
Calm, summer, crystal clear water - up to 12ft, maybe more...
A 7/8 rod, for some, may be to heavy. But that depends on what species your targeting.
I use, and always have used a #5 in all weathers and seasons. I have never had a problem.
As an average, good all round rod...A #6/7 handles everything.
Tropical species, the above does not apply.